Home / Music News / Sam Hunt, Dierks, Darius and Alan Jackson to be honored by the ACM in August


Sam HuntDierks BentleyDarius Rucker, and Alan Jackson are just some of the stars who’ll be front and center this year at the 12th Annual ACM Honors.

Recent Country Music Hall-of-Fame inductee Alan Jackson will accept the Cliffie Stone ICON Award, while Darius will be given the Gary Haber Lifting Lives honor for his charitable work.

Sam Hunt is on tap to receive the Gene Weed Milestone Award for the overwhelming success of “Body Like a Back Road.” Dierks will get the Merle Haggard Spirit Award, for embodying many of the characteristics of one of the Academy of Country Music’s most-honored artists.

Thomas Rhett‘s dad, Rhett Akins, will be recognized as 2018’s Songwriter of the Year, while Matraca Berg and the late Norro Wilson will take home the Poet’s Award.

Matraca wrote hits like “Strawberry Wine” and “You and Tequila,” while Wilson crafted classics for George Jones, like “The Grand Tour” and “A Picture of Me (Without You).”

The special ceremony will be held Wednesday, August 22 at Nashville’s historic Roman Auditorium. ACM Honors typically airs later in the year as a television special on CBS.

Copyright © 2018, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.


Recent posts in Music News