Home / Music News / Miranda Lambert is most-nominated at the 51st CMA Awards; Little Big Town, Keith Urban close behind


Even without a major radio hit, Miranda Lambert managed to score the most nominations for the 51st CMA Awards, with five. Little Big Town and Keith Urban are just behind her, with four apiece. Eric ChurchMaren MorrisThomas Rhett and Chris Stapleton could all take home three trophies each.

Reba McEntire reappears this year in the Female Vocalist category, setting up an interesting possibility. If Reba wins, she could tie Miranda’s record for the most Female Vocalist trophies, with five apiece.

While Taylor Swift has been largely absent from the country format for several years, she’s once again in the running for a CMA this year, for writing Little Big Town’s chart-topping “Better Man.”

The critically-acclaimed Jason Isbell emerges as a dark-horse contender for Album, grabbing a nod for The Nashville Sound with the 400 Unit. The late Glen Campbell also garnered a surprise nomination, competing for Musical Event for his recording of “Funny How Time Slips Away” with Willie Nelson.

Brothers Osborne, Dustin Lynch and Lauren Alaina revealed the nominees Monday on ABC’s Good Morning America. You can find out who wins, as Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood host the show for the tenth time on Wednesday, November 8, starting at 8 p.m. ET on ABC.

Here are the nominees for the 51st CMA Awards:  

Entertainer of the Year
Garth Brooks 
Luke Bryan
Eric Church
Chris Stapleton
Keith Urban

Female Vocalist
Kelsea Ballerini
Miranda Lambert
Reba McEntire
Maren Morris
Carrie Underwood

Male Vocalist
Dierks Bentley
Eric Church
Thomas Rhett
Chris Stapleton
Keith Urban

Vocal Duo
Brothers Osborne
Dan + Shay
Florida Georgia Line
Maddie & Tae

New Artist
Lauren Alaina
Luke Combs
Old Dominion
Jon Pardi
Brett Young

Music Video
“Better Man” — Little Big Town
“Blue Ain’t Your Color” — Keith Urban
“Craving You” — Thomas Rhett (featuring Maren Morris)
“It Ain’t My Fault” — Brothers Osborne
“Vice” — Miranda Lambert
Vocal Group 
Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
Old Dominion
Rascal Flatts
Zac Brown Band

“Better Man” — Little Big Town
“Blue Ain’t Your Color” — Keith Urban
“Body Like a Back Road” — Sam Hunt
“Dirt on My Boots” — Jon Pardi
“Tin Man” — Miranda Lambert

“Better Man” — Taylor Swift
“Blue Ain’t Your Color” — Clint Lagerberg, Hillary Lindsey, Steven Lee Olsen
“Body Like a Back Road” — Zach Crowell, Sam Hunt, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne
“Dirt on My Boots” — Rhett Akins, Jesse Frasure, Ashley Gorley
“Tin Man” — Jack Ingram, Miranda Lambert, Jon Randall 

The Breaker — Little Big Town
From A Room, Volume 1 — Chris Stapleton
Heart Break — Lady Antebellum
The Nashville Sound — Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit
The Weight of These Wings — Miranda Lambert 

Music Event
“Craving  You” — Thomas Rhett (featuring Maren Morris)
“Funny How Time Slips Away” — Glen Campbell (with Willie Nelson)
“Kill a Word” — Eric Church (featuring Rhiannon Giddens)
“Setting the World on Fire” — Kenny Chesney (with Pink)
“Speak to a Girl” — Tim McGraw and Faith Hill

Jerry Douglas
Paul Franklin
Dann Huff
Mac McAnally
Derek Wells

Copyright © 2017, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.


Recent posts in Music News