Home / Music News / Trisha Yearwood Delivers Five New Recordings for "The Passion: New Orleans" Soundtrack


There’s new music on the way from Trisha Yearwood. Although seven years passed between Heaven, Heartache and the Power of Love and her most recent album, 2014’s Prizefighter, Trisha’s role in Fox’s The Passion promises a bonus for fans —  five new recordings from the two-time CMA Female Vocalist of the Year.

Since The Passion is a dramatic re-telling of the story of Jesus through popular music, there is a twist. Trisha’s new tracks are re-recordings of songs that were hits for other people, ranging from Whitney Houston’s “Your Love Is My Love” to Jewel’s “Hands” to Jason Mraz’s “I Won’t Give Up.”

“It’s an honor and a terror to sing other people’s songs,” Trisha says, “especially songs that were made famous by other artists, because, you know, in my mind, they were kind of done right the first time.”

Trisha also takes on “You’ll Never Walk Alone,” from the Rodgers & Hammerstein musical Carousel. If you pre-order the soundtrack, you’ll instantly be able to download her version of Lifehouse‘s “Broken.” You can check out a behind-the-scenes video of Trisha working on the project in the studio on YouTube now.

The Passion:  New Orleans soundtrack will be released March 18, just days before Trisha performs the songs live from the Crescent City, as she plays Mary, the mother of Jesus, at 8 p.m. ET March 20 on Fox.

Here’s the complete track listing, with unique bonus versions available at both Target and Walmart:

“When Love Takes Over” — Yolanda Adams
“Love Can Move Mountains” — The Passion Cast (Feat. Jencarlos, Prince Royce, Chris Daughtry, Shane Harper & Michael W. Smith)
“My Love Is Your Love” — Trisha Yearwood
“Home” — Jencarlos & Prince Royce
“With Arms Wide Open” — Jencarlos
“Hands” — Trisha Yearwood
“Bring Me to Life” — Chris Daughtry
“Calling All Angels” — Jencarlos
“I Won’t Give Up” — Trisha Yearwood
“Demons” — Chris Daughtry & Jencarlos
“The Reason” — Prince Royce
“You’ll Never Walk Alone” — Trisha Yearwood
“We Don’t Need Another Hero” — Seal & Jencarlos
“Mad World” — Seal
“Broken” — Trisha Yearwood
“Unconditionally” — Jencarlos
Target Exclusive Tracks    
“He Will Never End” — Michael W. Smith
“Hold You Up (Extended Mix)” — Shane Harper
Walmart Exclusive Tracks
“When the Saints Go Marching In” — Yolanda Adams feat. Preservation Hall Jazz Band
“With Arms Wide Open (Spanish Version)” — Jencarlos

Copyright © 2016, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.



Recent posts in Music News