Home / National News / The Six States Where You Can’t Play Powerball


(NEW YORK) — With Wednesday night’s Powerball drawing set at a staggering $1.5 billion, jackpot junkies are eagerly awaiting the announcement of the winning numbers to see whether or not they beat the odds.

Forty-four states across the country participate in the multi-state lottery, with Wyoming being the most recent addition to the Powerball game in 2014.

But residents of Alabama, Alaska, Hawaii, Mississippi, Nevada and Utah will have to head out of state to buy a ticket for the chance to cash in on the winning numbers of the largest Powerball jackpot of all time. Not only do these six states not participate in the lottery game, they don’t even have state lotteries of their own.

While states like Utah and Hawaii outlaw gambling of all kinds — be it charitable, commercial, at a racetrack, or on an Indian reservation casino — others just require residents to cross state lines to get their drawings fixes or play at state-approved casinos such as those in Nevada and Mississippi.

Copyright © 2016, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.


Recent posts in National News