Home / Music News / Superstar Collaborations and Surprises in Store for Sunday Night's ACM Awards


As always, the ACM Awards, now in their 49th year, will be packed with superstar performances, including a duet between co-host Blake Shelton and his co-star on The Voice, Shakira. They’ll sing their duet, “Medicine,” from Shakira’s new self-titled album.

Co-host Luke Bryan is teaming up with Florida Georgia Line to sing their latest hit, “This Is How We Roll,” and The Band Perry will kick the night off with an “explosive” performance of “Chainsaw.”

Dierks Bentley and Sheryl Crow are teaming up for a duet on “I Hold On,” and Brad Paisley is set to debut his new single, “River Bank,” with a special performance from the MGM Grand’s Talent Pool in Las Vegas. Hunter Hayes is singing his latest hit, “Invisible,” in a special performance tied in with the Child Hunger Ends Here campaign.

In addition, Rascal Flatts is slated to sing their new single, “Rewind,” from the ACM Fan Jam at Mandalay Bay Events Center, and Darius Rucker will sing his nominated song, “Wagon Wheel.” Male Vocalist of the Year nominee Lee Brice will perform “I Drive Your Truck,” and Tim McGraw will take the stage, too.

George Strait, Miranda Lambert and Garth Brooks are set to pay tribute to this year’s Crystal Milestone recipient, Merle Haggard. Lady Antebellum will reunite with their friend, rock legend Stevie Nicks, for a performance of “Golden.”

Eric Church will reveal the latest installment of his San Destino Rising video series during his ACM Awards performance. Jason Aldean, Toby Keith and Keith Urban are slated to sing on the show as well, along with ACM New Artist of the Year nominees Justin Moore, Kip Moore and Brett Eldredge.

Miranda Lambert and Tim McGraw are the lead nominees with seven nods apiece. Miranda joins Blake Shelton, Luke Bryan, Taylor Swift and George Strait in the Entertainer of the Year category. Fans can vote in the Entertainer and New Artist of the Year categories through Sunday at VoteACM.com.

The 49th Annual ACM Awards air live Sunday night at 8 ET on CBS.

Here are the nominees:

Entertainer of the Year
Luke Bryan
Miranda Lambert
Blake Shelton
George Strait
Taylor Swift

Male Vocalist of the Year
Jason Aldean
Lee Brice
Luke Bryan
Blake Shelton
Keith Urban

Female Vocalist of the Year
Sheryl Crow
Miranda Lambert
Kacey Musgraves
Taylor Swift
Carrie Underwood

Duo of the Year
Big & Rich
Dan + Shay
Florida Georgia Line
Love and Theft
Thompson Square

Vocal Group of the Year
Eli Young Band
Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
The Band Perry
Zac Brown Band

New Artist of the Year
Brett Eldredge
Justin Moore
Kip Moore

Album of the Year
Blake Shelton — Based on a True Story…
Luke Bryan — Crash My Party
Florida Georgia Line — Here’s to the Good Times
Kacey Musgraves — Same Trailer Different Park
Tim McGraw — Two Lanes of Freedom

Song of the Year (Award to Songwriter)
“Every Storm Runs Out of Rain” — Gary Allan (Gary Allan, Hillary Lindsey, Matthew Warren)
“I Drive Your Truck” — Lee Brice (Jimmy Yeary, Connie Harrington, Jessi Alexander)
“Mama’s Broken Heart” — Miranda Lambert (Brandy Clark, Shane McAnally, Kacey Musgraves)
“Mine Would Be You” — Blake Shelton (Jessi Alexander, Connie Harrington, Deric Ruttan)
“Wagon Wheel” — Darius Rucker featuring Lady Antebellum (Bob Dylan, Ketch Secor)

Single Record of the Year
Florida Georgia Line — “Cruise”
Tim McGraw featuring Taylor Swift and Keith Urban — “Highway Don’t Care”
Lee Brice — “I Drive Your Truck”
Miranda Lambert — “Mama’s Broken Heart”
Darius Rucker featuring Lady Antebellum — “Wagon Wheel”

Vocal Event of the Year
Blake Shelton featuring Pistol Annies and Friends  — “Boys ‘Round Here”
Florida Georgia Line with Nelly — “Cruise (Remix)”
Tim McGraw featuring Taylor Swift and Keith Urban — “Highway Don’t Care”
Darius Rucker featuring Lady Antebellum — “Wagon Wheel”
Keith Urban and Miranda Lambert — “We Were Us”

Video of the Year
The Band Perry — “Better Dig Two”
Kacey Musgraves — “Blowin’ Smoke”
Tim McGraw featuring Taylor Swift and Keith Urban — “Highway Don’t Care”
Lee Brice — “I Drive Your Truck”
Miranda Lambert — Mama’s Broken Heart”
Carrie Underwood — “Two Black Cadillacs”

Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio


Recent posts in Music News