Home / Music News / Sunday's ACM Awards Boasts Impressive List of Performers, Presenters and Nominees


This Sunday’s ACM Awards promise three solid hours of entertainment from country’s hottest acts, including this year’s co-hosts Blake Shelton and Luke Bryan. Here’s a roundup of all you need to know going into the big night:


Blake and Luke will kick off the show together singing Blake’s new single, “Boys ‘Round Here,” along with Sheryl Crow, Pistol Annies and Brad Paisley. Luke will return later in the show to debut his new single, “Crash My Party.” Brad Paisley is set to headline the ACM Fan Jam, teaming up with Dierks Bentley and Hunter Hayes for a special performance of their new collaboration, “Outstanding in Our Field.” That song will be included on Brad’s new album, Wheelhouse, out Tuesday.

New artist of the year nominees Brantley Gilbert, Jana Kramer and Florida Georgia Line will also perform at the Fan Jam as part of the ACM Awards broadcast.

Hunter Hayes will also welcome his musical hero, Stevie Wonder, for a special collaboration on one of Stevie’s biggest hits. Former ACM Awards host Reba returns to introduce George Strait and Garth Brooks‘ joint tribute to the late Dick Clark, who produced the show for many years.

Tim McGraw is teaming up with Taylor Swift and Keith Urban for a performance of their new single, “Highway Don’t Care.” Look for Kelly Clarkson, Little Big Town, The Band Perry, Lady Antebellum, Jason Aldean, Kenny Chesney, Carrie Underwood and Jewel to also perform on the ACM Awards this Sunday night.


Shania Twain will return to the ACM Awards for the first time in a decade to present the Entertainer of the Year trophy. Miranda Lambert and Sheryl Crow are also set to present trophies this year along with Jake Owen, John Fogerty, Kacey Musgraves and Scotty McCreery. A few stars from CBS shows will also be presenting, including VegasMichael Chicklis, Beth Behrs of 2 Broke Girls, and The Big Bang Theory‘s Kaley Cuoco.

Duck Dynasty stars Willie & Korie Roberts will present trophies too, along with San Francisco 49ers quarterback Colin Kaepernick. Media personalities Nancy O’Dell and Kevin Frazier are also serving as presenters.


As for the top nominees, Eric Church is in the lead, scoring seven nods. Hunter Hayes picked up six nominations, while Miranda Lambert and Taylor Swift are tied with five apiece. Miranda is going up against her husband Blake Shelton in the Entertainer of the Year category, which also includes Taylor, Jason Aldean and Luke Bryan.

The Entertainer of the Year and New Artist of the Year categories are now open to a fan vote at VoteACM.com, and fans can keep voting for their favorite nominees up until show time. The New Artist of the Year nominees have all already won their individual categories: Brantley Gilbert is this year’s New Male Vocalist; Jana Kramer is the New Female Vocalist winner and Florida Georgia Line is the winner for New Vocal Duo or Group.

The 48th Annual ACM Awards will be handed out live on CBS, Sunday, April 7 at 8 p.m. Eastern.

Here are the 48th Annual ACM Awards Nominees:

Entertainer of the Year
Jason Aldean
Luke Bryan
Miranda Lambert
Blake Shelton
Taylor Swift

Male Vocalist
Jason Aldean
Luke Bryan
Eric Church
Toby Keith
Blake Shelton

Female Vocalist
Miranda Lambert
Martina McBride
Kacey Musgraves
Taylor Swift
Carrie Underwood

Vocal Duo of the Year 
Big & Rich
Florida Georgia Line
Love and Theft
Thompson Square

Vocal Group of the Year
The Band Perry
Eli Young Band
Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
Zac Brown Band

Album of the Year
Blown Away, Carrie Underwood
Chief, Eric Church
Red, Taylor Swift
tailgates & tanlines, Luke Bryan
Tornado, Little Big Town

Song of the Year (Award to Songwriter)
“A Woman Like You,” Lee Brice (Phil Barton, Jonny Bulford, Jon Stone)
“Even if It Breaks Your Heart,” Eli Young Band (Will Hoge, Eric Paslay)
“Over You,” Miranda Lambert (Miranda Lambert, Blake Shelton)
“Springsteen,” Eric Church (Eric Church, Jeff Hyde, Ryan Tyndell)
“Wanted,” Hunter Hayes (Hunter Hayes, Troy Verges)

Single Record
“Even If It Breaks Your Heart,” Eli Young Band
“Over You,” Miranda Lambert
“Pontoon,” Little Big Town
“Springsteen,” Eric Church
“Wanted,” Hunter Hayes

Video of the Year
“Creepin’,” Eric Church
“Wanted,” Hunter Hayes
“Tornado,” Little Big Town
“Merry Go ‘Round,” Kacey Musgraves
“We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together,” Taylor Swift
“The Wind,” Zac Brown Band

Vocal Event of the Year
“Don’t Rush,” Kelly Clarkson Featuring Vince Gill
“Easy,” Rascal Flatts Featuring Natasha Bedingfield
“Feel Like a Rock Star,” Kenny Chesney (Duet with Tim McGraw)
“Let It Rain,” David Nail Featuring Sarah Buxton
“The Only Way I Know,” Jason Aldean with Luke Bryan and Eric Church

New Artist of the Year
Jana Kramer,  New Female Vocalist Winner
Brantley Gilbert, New Male Vocalist Winner
Florida Georgia Line, New Vocal Duo or Group Winner

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio


Recent posts in Music News